Simple Cat Bed – How-To

Mom got me a used sewing machine! I’ve never owned my own before so I was very excited to give it try! I started with a simple project for the newest member of our family… our little kitten Tucker! ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

img_7354.jpg

Using some fur and a thick cotton fabric scraps I free handed a pattern like this:
picture11.png

Steps:

  1. I cut out a matching t-shape from each fabric.
  2. I sewed up each corner of the fabrics individually.
  3. With the right sides of the fabric together, I pinned and sewed most of top of the bed together – leaving about 3 inches to flip and insert stuffing.
  4. I turned the bed right side out
  5. I put in stuffing, one side at a time and sewed under the stuffing to create a stiff stuffed side.
  6. After each side had stuffing I closed the remaining 3 inches.

Ok, so the craftsmanship of this thing is not great – the sides are uneven, I doubt that stuffing and then sewing each side was the right way to do it, and I was too excited to finish it to hand-stich the thing shut so there’s this ugly seam on one side where I closed the thing with the machine. BUT, it was super quick (took me about 2 hours), and the cat LOVES it! Plus, it was baby’s first sewing machine project, so let’s give baby a pass on this one. 😛

tucker_bed.jpg

2 thoughts on “Simple Cat Bed – How-To

  1. he’s such a beautiful kitty with a very nicely and lovingly made bed. (but as a tip for next time, sew all the bottoms of the pockets for the stuffing first, leaving the ends open, then when you’re done stuffing, stitch your corners together, you can even use the machine, because they won’t be very visible!)
    love ya!!
    cassi

Leave a Reply

